Short Stack: Les Dessins Français

The two short film contenders that I found online this week are two very painterly animated films. The first is from the Animated Short Film winner from the World Wide Short Film Festival – so kind of a big deal. The film was a French flick called Le Silence sous L’Écource, or The Silence Under the Bark. I couldn’t find an embed, but I do have a link to where you can find one. It’s very pretty, but probably a little too weird and abstract for Uncle Oscar’s tastes.

<a> http://www.shortoftheweek.com/2010/06/09/the-silence-beneath-the-bark/</a&gt;

The other film that I found was the Palme D’Or winner at the Cannes Film Festival. Another Frenchie called Chienne D’Histoire. This directly translates to Bitch of History (but like female dog), but the American translation is Barking Island. Go figure. This is my surest bet to show up on the short list and not make the final nominations. It reminds me a lot of Cat Piano last year, which I’ll include too – just because it was my favorite Short film of last year.

Leave a Reply

