For Your Cannes-sideration

After seeing 20 movies at the 64th Cannes Film Festival, I’ve used my superior movie watching skills to pick out a few lucky people that I think are worthy of awards consideration. Cannes is a particularly hard festival to maintain the traction from because the American collective memory is equal to a goldfish’s memory. That is why I’m inducting some new members into my For Your Consideration hall because the American collective memory is equal to a goldfish’s memory. I’m not going to suggest my favorites, per se, although they are all performances I loved, but just the ones that might need a little help later on.

Best Actress:

Symbolism Alert: the blood red represents violence.

Tilda Swinton – We Need to Talk About Kevin

Queen Tilda has done it again. And the Academy will probably ignore her again after her breath taking language bending work in I Am Love and her underseen (myself included) turn in Julia the year prior. Here she brings the crazy and she brings it hard. She’s got my vote every year and I hope she pulls it through.

She's the pensive one. Or is it disturbed?

Elizabeth Olsen – Martha Marcy May Marlene

The “but she’s so normal” award would go to Elizabeth Olsen, for dodging what ever anorexic bullet hit her two slutty sisters. In this indie psycho drama thriller Martha Marcy May Marlene about a girl’s escape from a cult, Olsen plays battered and shattered and dominated the screen. And she shows off her hoo hahs and that never hurts. Trust me.

Hmm something must be wrong with my computer. Where's the color?

Best Actor: Jean Dujardin – The Artist

How charming does this guy look? And the mustache is so comical. He’ll never get nominated like that. ITs frustrating that the epic suaveness that is Jean Dujardin in The Artist is just going to get looked over. Who can tap dance like that anymore? Who? And his work with the dog is Oscar worthy alone.

Hawkes commanding the crowd. Silence.

Best Supporting Actor: John Hawkes – Martha Marcy May Marlene

My little gem of John Hawkes. He’s the super bad ass cult leader from Martha Marcy May Marlene and I almost joined the cult. He’s got this weird thing for renaming girls and his troop of sons and he sings weird songs and he does some nasty unmentionable things. And his super veiny arms mean that he’s evil, but they just won’t learn. And he makes this larger than life character intimate and scary.

Look at that moody, erm, tie chain.

Costume Design: Danny Glicker – Restless

So sue me. I don’t really care that the costumes don’t build on character. Whatever. I want to go shopping wherever Enoch is getting his clothes. The whole movie is practically a Calvin Klein ad. This should be a no brainer.

Original Score:

The music created by David Wingo is haunting and creepy yet oddly sentimental. There aren’t a lot of people that can pull that off. And that melody sounds like rain. What, there’s a storm coming? Fuck me it’s on the nose, but it’s good.

Sound Editing:

Why a drama can’t get a sound nomination is beyond me. And this one deserves it. It makes a jam sandwich absolutely terrifying. And the tomatoes. If you closed your eyes, you would believe a tomato was being thrown at you.

Leave a Reply

