DIY Cannes 2013: The Heir Apparent: Largo Winch

largo(1)
To stave off the depression of not being at Cannes while everyone I follow on Twitter gabs about their new favorite discoveries, I’ve decided to take the opportunity and hold my own film festival. Every night, I’m going to watch a movie I haven’t seen by one of the director’s debuting on the Croisette. Thanks to the power of Netflix, so many foreign movies and older auteur classics are available for Instant Streaming. Who knows what discoveries I might find along the way?

And yes, I know it’s over, but 2 week long trips in the middle of this project set me back very far. I’m going to finish it up anyway BECAUSE I CARE. Or I’m still unemployed.

Movie #10: The Heir Apparent: Largo Winch (2008)

Director: Jérôme Salle

His Cannes 2013 Movie: Zulu

For what might possibly be the first time, I went into this franchise movie without having any idea what the conceit of the franchise was. Imagine going to see a James Bond movie without even knowing that James Bond was a spy, let alone the fact that he likes his martinis shaken, not stirred. It’s a bizarre experience and one I’m afraid didn’t hold up too well.

Based on a series of comic books, this series focuses on the titular character trying to prove that he is truly the adopted son of his father and the heir to a brilliant fortune. There’s a lot of action, some of it compelling, some of it not. They go to exotic lands. And there’s a big final showdown and a couple of reveals by the villains. And obviously, everything turns out fine. If I seem blasé, it’s because even though the characters kept telling me that the stakes were high, I never felt it.

It’s certainly not because of Tomer Sisley’s lead performance. He manages to do as much as possible with very little script. His suave and slinky manner helps him coast through most tough acting, and he nails all of the action. Perhaps the biggest let down was Kristin Scott Thomas who was given almost nothing to do. Her role as businesswoman Ann Ferguson has a couple of important dialogue scenes, but that’s about it. Instead, we are forced to rely on the visuals, which never really go out of their way to distinguish themselves from any other movie. The Croatian island monastery is pretty cool and I actually quite enjoyed some things (although I am failing to come up with any examples… maybe… seeing Hong Kong?), but everything about this movie is utterly forgettable.
 

Leave a Reply

